Illinois Cannabis and Marijuana License

Illinois Cannabis and Marijuana License

There are a lot of states that legalize the use and sale of cannabis like Arizona, Alabama, California, and so on. The type of license depends on both the location that you live or run your business and the sort of business. The state of Illinois is the 11th state that legalizes recreational marijuana use for adults.

Who can buy marijuana in Illinois?

All the consumers can buy marijuana for recreational use from the sellers, who have licenses.

​​Who can sell marijuana legally in Illinois?

There is only one legal seller in Illinois. It is a medical marijuana dispensary. Only they can legally sell marijuana for recreational use.

Who can grow cannabis in Illinois?

If you are a medical marijuana patient, you are allowed to grow five plants individually. But if you are not a patient, you cannot grow marijuana at your home. It is punishable by a civil penalty. You will pay $200 as a punishment for growing up to five plants.

Cannabis and Marijuana dispensary license in Illinois

People who are 21 years old or older can obtain a marijuana dispensary license in Illinois. The commercial sale and recreation use of marijuana is legalized and regulated by the Cannabis regulation and TAX Act.

How much does it cost to get a Cannabis and Marijuana dispensary license in Illinois?

You have to pay $5000 for the application fee. It is non-refundable. And for a two-year license, you have to pay a $60,000 licensing fee.

Are there types of Cannabis and Marijuana dispensary licenses in Illinois?

You can find five types of marijuana dispensary licenses in Illinois. So here they are:

  • The first type is Craft growers.
  • The second type is Processors.
  • Then, the third type is Cultivation centers.
  • The fourth type of license is Dispensing organizations.
  • And the last type is Transporting organizations.

Do you have a limit on the amount of Cannabis that you can sell?

You can sell cannabis to people who are 21 years old or older. You can sell a specific amount of cannabis in one day.
Here is the amount that you can sell.

  • Up to 5 grams of Marijuana
  • 30 grams of Marijuana flower
  • 500 Milligrams of THC in the cannabis field

If you are not an Illinois resident, you can purchase up to half of the amount that Illinois residents can have.

Who supervises the Cannabis and Marijuana licensing process in Illinois?

The marijuana dispensary license is overseen by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

Application Process

In order to sell cannabis, you can register in an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License, and do it through that. If you obtain a marijuana dispensary license, you get access to sell recreational marijuana.

In order to get a license, you have to provide several required documents. You can find the documents.

You have to pay $30,000 for licensing fees. And you have to show proof of registration that you have for the medical marijuana dispensary.

Medical Cannabis and Marijuana license in Illinois

The state of Illinois has legalized medical cannabis in 2013. In order to get an Illinois medical cannabis license, you have to be qualified for the medical cannabis program. And you have to meet some requirements. For example, you cannot have any guilty convictions or offenses. In order to qualify for the program, you have to meet the requirements.

You have to be 18 years or older. But if you are a minor, you have to provide two physician proposals and agreement given by the guardian.

  • Secondly, you have to provide proof of residency in Illinois.
  • Thirdly, you must provide proof of diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition.
  • And lastly, you have to obtain certification from a physician.

You have to know that if you apply to get a card, you cannot drive a school bus or Commercial Driver’s License. And you cannot get a medical cannabis card if you are a firefighter, correctional officer, and law enforcement officer.
You need one of these diagnoses issued by the doctor for the card.

The Pilot Program of Illinois Medical Marijuana Card

  • Cancer
  • Autism
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Hepatitis C
  • Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy
  • Migraines
  • Epilepsy seizures
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Polycystic Kidney Disease
  • Wasting syndrome
  • (ALS) Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Traumatic brain wreck
  • Tourette condition
  • Arnold-Chiari malformation

So if you are diagnosed with one of these above mentioned conditions, you can apply for the card.

In order to get the approval for the Illinois medical card of marijuana, you have to complete a few stages. You have to gather all the documentation before you submit the application. And you have to bring all your documents to the office of state in a period of 90 days.

You have to do all the steps in order to get a medical cannabis license.

Your first step has to be meeting with a physician.

If you want to get approval for the medical cannabis card in this state, you have to get a physician’s consent. It is mandatory.

Your second step has to be the written form of certification given by the physician.

After meeting with a physician, he/she has to fill in a written approval. And after it, they have to send it to the Division of Medical Cannabis of the Public Health of Illinois Department.

Here is the address:

Illinois Public Health Department
Medical Cannabis Division
535 W. Jefferson Street
IL 62761, Springfield

The department must receive your application in a period of 90 days.

The third step is preparing the required fees and documents.

If you are a new registering patient you must pay the fee for application. You have an opportunity to choose a three-year, two-year, or one-year ID card, and pay for that.

$200 is an application fee for the 2-year card, $100 is an application fee for the 3-year card, and 250$ is an application fee for the 3-year card. But if you are a qualified patient, you have to pay a non-reimbursable fee.

The patients, who have Supplemental Security and Disability income, must pay $50.00, $100.00, or $125.00 for the application fee. But if you apply for a guardian’s card, for a year, you have to pay $25.00, and $50.00 for 2 years, and $75.00 for 3 years.

  1. Firstly, you must have your photo taken within 30 days and include it on your application. Your photo must be 2×2.
  2. Secondly, you must have a color photocopy of a driver’s license or ID card of the state.
  3. Thirdly, you will need a photocopy of the ID page.
  4. And after that, you have to provide proof of residency in Illinois.

If you are an online applicant, you have to obtain a JPEG and PDF file. And you can upload the files to the application of the license.

The last step is finalizing your application

Now you can complete your application online. So when you submit it, you can get an interim receipt.

Amalya M

Amalya M

Amalya is a very enthusiastic person, who is eager to learn and to help people learn. Content writing is a good way to get a lot of new information for her, and she does it with pleasure. She is writing content not for just writing, but for her inner peace and new opportunities to enrich herself. So, you can feel the love and dedication in her writings. She provides unique and quality content both for the sites and for the readers.