Illinois Barber License

Illinois Barber License

Illinois is the perfect place to start a career as a hairstylist. Estimates show that the job opportunities for this occupation will grow by 11.8% until 2022. However, receiving an Illinois barber license is not an easy thing to do. You have to go through both examinations and the online application process to become apt for this position. But don’t worry! This article covers each step of the process, useful links, and renewal processes.

Application Requirements in Illinois

First, you need to take certain steps to start this career. The sequence of the submission steps is as follows:

  • Training of 1500 hours
  • Passing score on the National Barbering Written Licensing Exam
  • Completed form

Next, let us go into detail and explain each step.


Firstly, to work in different hair salons, you have to undergo a specific coaching program. Namely, you can find such courses in many licensed barber schools. Each course consists of the following two parts:

  1. 150 hours of theory
  2. 1350 hours of theory and practice

Some topics that each applicant is believed to learn about are presented below:

  • Treatment of hair
  • History of the profession
  • Chemicals
  • Hair coloring
  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Workers’ Compensation Act

Each institution requires you to pass a final exam. Therefore, if you want to move on to the next step of your application procedure, you must get 75% or higher on the test.

National Barbering Written Licensing Exam

Continental Testing Services is responsible for the exam. You are supposed to register on their platform and submit the following supporting documents to register for the test.

  1. 4-page form
  2. Official transcript from the cosmetology school that you attended
  3. If you previously had a license, you would need to submit a Certification of Licensure.

After attaching all of the documents to your account, you must pay a fee of $127. Afterward, you should expect to receive a confirmation letter. If your request is approved, you can take up to 60 days to schedule a date. Furthermore, examinations take place in PSI testing centers located in different cities. Some of the topics include:

  • Skin histology
  • Hair and scalp
  • Infection control
  • Shaving
  • Draping procedures
  • Haircutting and hairstyling

You can find an example of the licensure test by clicking on the link.

Completed Form

Once you receive more than 75% on the examination, you should mail your score report and the 4-page documentation to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Please see the address below.

ATTN: Division of Professional Regulation
P.O. Box 7007
Springfield, IL 62791

How Much Does It Cost to Become a Barber?

You don’t have to pay any additional fee for the submission of documents. The same goes for Minnesota as well. However, before taking the assessment, you must pay for the tutoring classes. Generally, those classes cost from $20,000-$25,000. After graduating, you are required to take the written quiz, which costs $127. If the result is successful, you will automatically become a licensed professional.

How Long is the Procedure?

The necessary education requires a minimum of 1500 hours. The duration should be spread out over nine months. The maximum amount of permitted time is 3 years. Additionally, registering for the assessment is a few days. First, you need to receive approval that all prerequisites are met. After that, you should be able to schedule a date. This procedure generally takes 2-3 business days. Lastly, you have the opportunity to check your status online.

Renewal Process

The renewal is due every two years. Moreover, two methods of renewal are available. Please read about some of them below.

  • Internet
  • Print


The entire operation should be completed on the same platform, where you registered to submit your documents. For starters, you ought to provide your certification number and a single identifier. It can be your date of birth, social security number, etc. Going forward you have to verify the information you provided previously. After verification, you would have to answer some questions and pay the fee of $40 via a valid credit card.


The steps are pretty much the same. After filling in your information online, you gain access to the renewal form. Equally important, you would have to download it, fill it in, and mail it to the appropriate department.

Checking the Status

You can check your status online. It can be accessed on the CTS website. Please find the link in the “How Long Does the Procedure Take?” section of this article above.

How To Transfer My Certificate from Another State to Illinois?

You have the opportunity to transfer your permit. However, you should have completed accredited coaching sessions and have an official document. Please register on the platform according to the steps described in the sections above.

Looking for Other Types of Permits?

Additionally, our website provides detailed how-to guides for almost all forms of authorization. Feel free to check out all of the articles and be informed!

Olimpia M

Olimpia M

Experienced marketing professional with more than 2 years of experience. Specialized in content development and copywriting. Creative writing enthusiast with demonstrated freelance experience. Motto for life: inspire others to tell their own story through yours.